Relocating or traveling to another state?
Although 29 States (as of 2017) have some type of weed legalization, 9 of these being for medical and recreational use, not all states are so cannabis friendly. If you don’t want to be without your cannabis in your new location, here are some state that you will want to avoid:
Paraphernalia is a misdemeanor. If you have 35 grams or less it will be a $25.00 fine with court costs of $48.50 per count.
Distribution or selling any amount of marijuana is a felony in Kansas.
Over 450 grams is an intent to distribute and is a felony that could result in 10-42 months of probation or a $100,000 max fine. These fines also pertain to hash and concentrates. If you plan on growing; more than 4 less than 50 plants is a felony and could get you 46-83 months imprisonment with a $300,000 fine.
If you use marijuana it is a misdemeanor, you could face 90 days in lock up and a max fine of $100. Get caught with any amount on you in Michigan, it’s a misdemeanor with up to a year in jail and $2,000 fine. Less than 5 kg is a felony with 4 years incarceration and max fine of $20,000. Growing less than 20 plants of cannabis is also a felony; 4 years in jail and $20,000 fine.
First offense of any amount of cannabis is a misdemeanor with penalty of up to 1 year in jail or/and a $1,000 fine. Subsequent offenses are the same. First offense of having paraphernalia is a misdemeanor with up to 1 year in jail and $1000 fine, second offense $5000 fine and third offense $10,000 fine all with a year in jail. Any conviction will lead to your driver’s license being suspend from 6 months – 3 years. If you get caught with less than 25 lbs it is intent to sell bringing you a felony charge and 2 years – life incarcerated with a max fine of $20,000.
Getting caught in Tennessee with 1/2 ounce or less the first time is a misdemeanor with a fine of $250 and up to a jail behind bars. Subsequent offenses will still be a year incarcerated and the fine will go to $500. Hash or concentrates is a misdemeanor with 11 months incarcarated and $2,500 fine. If you try to sell 1/2 oz – 10 lbs it is a felony with 1-6 years locked up and $5,000 fine. If you have 10 cannabis plants of less it is a felony with again 1-6 years lock up and $5,000 fine.
Getting caught the first time is a misdemeanor with a fine up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 6 months. Second time, you are looking at a Class 1 felony and up to $10,000 fine with up to 3.5 years behind bars. If you have or are going to be using any kind of paraphernalia it can cost you 30 days of incarceration and a max fine of $500. Cultivation of 4 plants or fewer is a felony with 3.5 years lock up and a $10,000 fine.
Updated: September 2017